Releasing a Pickle

Here we are again… nap time. Its a funny thing these naps.. I have to keep myself busy or I just get so bored. When Pickle was a newborn I would lay beside her little sleeping body and wonder when we would be able to play and when her nap would be over. I never minded the sleepless nights. I was so in awe of how beautiful she was and how adorable every coo she made was. Its hard to believe that these past 9 months have gone by as quickly as they have. Its tempting to be saddened by this but I must remember that each new discovery she makes is one step closer towards independence and towards the destiny God has for her. I’m her mom, not her owner. I’m her to teach and release.

I began the process of releasing my daughter while I was pregnant. I had waited so long and desired so badly to be a mom that I knew I would need an extra measure of grace to release her the proper way, with excitement for her and joy and not mourning. I love my little family, I love this new little one on the way. In less then a month I will find out if Pickle will have a little brother or sister and I cannot wait! This child too, I must pray God’s will and not my own for. So that he or she is free to be themselves. 

Being a parent is an amazing thing. Pickle is now weaned, drinking from a sip cup, eating independently and beginning to crawl. She’s working on her 6th tooth and has the personality of a full grown person stuffed inside her tiny body. She keeps me going. All those nights of waiting for our play time, and here it is. We play all the time. Lego, blocks, read, puppets.. you name it. My husband and I have decided to simplify our lives in this season so as not to become distracted. We don’t have cable, are currently looking for buyers of our iPhones so we can downgrade to a text only phone, have gotten off Facebook and have become more involved in our community. Going to free community events, library outings and for walks. It feels nice to disconnect and reengage in true living. 

Life’s to short for distraction. 

-Kate 

Leave a comment